lets talk hair

For those of you who didn’t know, me and my fellow bloggers are a part of the “natural hair” world and have been for quite some time. Although we tend to wear our hair straight, we are all for embracing our natural curls and are constantly in search of natural hair styles that fit our personalities and lifestyles. Now that summer is approaching it’s getting harder and harder to keep our curly strand straight.

So when Kattsmeeow came across the Anthony Dickey method I was so excited to try it out.

Anthony is all about curly girls embracing their natural texture. No need for a twist out or braid out to achieve curls. He has a product line called Hair Rules that works for all hair textures and has tons of natural oils.

These two videos show his very simple method.

Step 1: Wash hair with a sudsy free and sulfate free creamy shampoo making sure to finger detangle as you go along.

Step 2: Apply a creamy conditioner and A LOT of it!!!!!! Don’t forget to finger detangle in this step too.

Step 3: The curls you see with the conditioner are the curls you are trying to preserve. While the hair is soaking wet apply the styling product, make sure that you also use A LOT of product. Really saturate your hair with your styling product then add some water on top of the product.

Step 4: Let your hair dry and do not manipulate your curls until it’s totally dry. Using a hooded drier or a diffuser is optional but from my personal experience I think this step is important if you want to retain length.

Here are some pictures from my experience and the products I used. This method is about revealing your true texture, keeping your hair soft, manageable and moisturized. I let my hair air dry instead of sitting under a drier so I did experience shrinkage, but my hair felts so soft and I saw all my beautiful curls!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This will be my go to method if I want to wear my hair curly this summer.

Feel free to leave a comment below if you have tried this method. We would love for you to share your results with us, especially if you were able to retain length.

 

7 thoughts on “lets talk hair”

  1. Yes, the curls definition stayed. But I did continue to experience a decent amount of shrinkage. I think shrinkage is evitable especially with kinkier hair textures.

      1. I haven’t seen hair rules products around Toronto and Shea Moisture is hard to find as is. I found two beauty supply stores that carry it and it’s actually pretty expensive! But it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

